Awards for Excellence


Award for Excellence Parent Category

Mrs Brarbara Kay (Tangara School for Girls)

Barbara Kay runs the Basketball for a girls school because she believes that girls need this sport for self esteem and to foster tenacity and resilience. She attends every match and coaches three teams. She approaches coaching in a way that meets the girls where they are and she nurtures them and helps them deal with their issues through the sport. This may be in saying to them ‘come on, forget what has happened and focus, breathe’ when they are hard done by with the competition or even after a rough day in the school playground. She has helped many girls turn themselves around through her coaching and has doubled the number of girls playing the sport in the school. And she isnt paid a cent!!

Award for Excellence Principals Category
Mr James Burfitt (Redfield College)

James encourages parental involvement/education by arranging speakers each term to come to the school to present on topical subjects relevant to child-rearing. Promotes an environment where parents meet with their child’s tutor/mentor each term to work on their child’s character development and academic and sporting pursuits. Makes a concerted effort to personally get to know all parents of the school. Is a friend and confidant of many parents at the school. Often assists in transporting boys from sports training. Makes an effort to attend weekend sport, especially grand finals. Organises a surf camp for the boys in the holidays and drives the bus himself.

Lifetime Award

Mrs Jacqui van deVelde

For her outstanding service to the NSWPC over many years and continued service to the executive after her tenure with the council had finished.

All recipients were ecstatic with their awards and $150 book vouchers from Novella Books at Wahroonga!

Our 2016 Awards will be presented on Friday June 24, 2016 at our AGM and Awards Night.

The Awards for Excellence program was established in 2007 by the NSW Parents’ Council, and recognise the hard work and dedication by principals, parents and parents’ associations in non-government schools.

These Awards are open to our affiliated parent associations only. Click here to check that your school and association is affiliated.

There are 3 categories to choose from:

Our Parent Award for Excellence is to recognise the contribution and dedication by an individual parent in their school community

Our Parent Group Award for Excellence is to recognise the contribution and dedication by parents’ associations in independent schools.

Our Principal Award for Excellence gives your parent association a chance to nominate your Principal for their efforts in actively engaging with your parent community and encouraging parental involvement within your school.

Please download the following documents if you wish to nominate a parent, parent group or principal:

2016 Awards for Excellence General Information

2016 Nomination form for parent or parent group

2016 Nomination form for Principal

Click Here for the 2016 Selection Criteria

Nominations for 2016 are now open and close on May 31, 2016.

For any inquiries, please email our Executive Officer at

Below are the previous recipients of the Council’s Awards for Excellence for 2015

  • Principal: Ms Bev McFarland, St Pauls Lutheran School, Henty
  • Parent: Mr Adam Cox, Redfield College, Dural
  • Parent Group: The International French School Lycee Condercet, Maroubra

Please note judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.